Class of 2019πŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸŽ“

Hey, y’all!Β  So, where do I start?Β  First of all, I’m sorry that it’s been too long.Β  I know I say always say that, but it’s true.Β  I honestly thought, that after I graduated I’d have more free time, but I’m finding out it’s not like I thought it’d be, although I relish the freedom.

IMG_6143

So, yeah, I graduated. Class of 2019; that was pretty cool. πŸ˜€Β  Since all of my siblings have been homeschooled, we’ve never graduated with anybody else, but I had the privilege to graduate with three of my good friends. I grew up with Jocsan and Dinia (Nina), and share wonderful childhood memories with them. When we were younger we formed our own squad (or small gang πŸ˜†), we three and their cousin Jeriel. I’ve also known Celeste (Coco) for 5 years, and we many embarrassing and crazy wonderful memories. There was also another young man from our church, Johan, who graduated with us. It was a pretty cool Class of 2019. Our motto (or verse) was: Set your eyes on things above, and not on earthly things (RVR 1960, translated to English).

Despite how tired I was feeling, I really enjoyed my day.Β  I decorated my cap, which was something that I’d always wanted to do; I really enjoyed doing it. Shoutout to Cristel who helped me decorate it! The decorated cap added a special touch to the graduation.

The four of us (Jocsan, Nina, Coco, and I) graduated in December, and I was able to be in Nina and Coco’s graduation, which was lots of fun. Graduating together had been a goal we’d made as kids.

So I had a lot of fun, despite the exhaustion. I got a lot of pictures, but I won’t overwhelm y’all with a lot. It’s funny to me how my favorite pictures were the ones I took with my little kids from church.

Something I really enjoyed was my brothers surprising me with roses. I had told Nathaniel (when we went into town on the day of my graduation) that I really wished somebody would get me flowers for my graduation, but that I doubted any of my friends would think about it. He told me he was sorry but that he wouldn’t have time to go by the flower shop and buy me some. I wasn’t disappointed, per se.Β  I really didn’t expect anybody to bring me any, but I was fine with it.

I knew that my brothers had gotten something for me because as I and Nathaniel were heading to the campground, we passed Moses, who was driving home from school. Nathaniel asked me if I was going to need him to drop me off at the house (because he was going to the campground, and I couldn’t go in and see the decorations until the actual graduation ceremony.) I told him no, that I’d go to the campground and wait outside until Allana was ready to go to the house and do my hair. He seemed a little stressed when I told him that and he kept trying to “subtly” (or what guys think is subtle) urge me to stay at the house.

He then called Moses and in (what guys think is) “casual” conversation mentioned I was with him and that I would be going to the campground, but that I would be leaving quickly. Why Moses needed to know that I had no idea, but I sensed something was amiss.

When we arrived at the campground, Bub asked me if I was going to go down to Bro. Leo and Sis. Tina’s house and I told him that I wasn’t planning on it. He “discreetly” urged me to go down there, “and do not look behind you,” he said. I complied and spent some time with Meredith until they called me and informed me it was time to leave and that I could go back up.

We went home and got ready.

 

IMG_0194 (1)
Allana doing my hair. πŸ˜†

 

The graduation (like everything else in Honduras) was late in starting because the other graduates weren’t there. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜†

A well-known (or maybe only we know it) Schreckhise trait is that we walk fast. I’m not even sure why, but we do. I remember as a little girl having to run to catch up with my dad as he was walking. Eventually, he’d notice (since I was holding his hand) that I was panting, and he’d slow down. πŸ˜† So, that being said, I walked in alone to the “graduation march” and I guess I was supposed to walk slower because I got there long before the song was able to finish. πŸ˜‚ I think Cristel was only able to get one picture of me (while I walked strode in) when she told me to stop. I’m not sure if it was my excitement of being graduated that caused me to “jog” up to the front. 🀣

 

IMG_0302
You can kinda see me jogging here in this picture.

 

IMG_0270
The picture Cristel managed to get while I strode up to the front.

 

 

Josiah, Nathaniel, Bro. Bairon (the pastor out in Ibans, also my former youth pastor), and my dad spoke at the graduation. The thought that stuck the most was: Keep your eyes on things above!

At some point, dad said that the boys (my brothers) had a special presentation for me. I figured they were going to be clowns, or say something that would embarrass me (because they’re just lovely like that). When Josiah walked in carrying a bouquet of roses, I was legit shocked. This is the first time they’ve been able to pull off something like this and actually completely shock me.

IMG_0342

My reaction in the picture was genuine; I didn’t know at all, and my mouth opened very wide. I managed to look over at Nathaniel, who was laughing uncontrollably and looking very pleased with himself. He said “I got you!” and if I remember right, I mouthed “You’re such a brat” or something loving and sisterly like that. My eyes actually filled up with tears. Thanks, boys, for making my day so special, and congrats because you actually got me!

I had an amazing time and was very tired when I got home. I stayed up late reading all the notes that people wrote. Thanks to everyone who sent notes for my book. I enjoyed them immensely, and you all made my day feel even more special.

It was the end of that chapter, but my story continues! (That was what my cap said).

IMG_0205

I’m excited to see what God has for me! I can’t wait to see what the future will bring. It was the best of times and it was the worst of times! (#odysseyreference #jaysmouse 🀣)

Here are a few more favorites from the graduation day:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you all for reading, and I realize it’s been about 5 months since I’ve written and informative blog, but I am working on several, to catch everybody up on what’s been going on. I know that the post about my Stateside trip should come first (chronologically) but I wrote this one first. I’m working on the other ones, and the US/Canada trip will probably be the next one I finish, and hopefully, I will be finished with it within the next couple of days.

Thank you all for being patient with me, and I’m so sorry it has taken me so long!

Have a blessed day,

Sarah Schreckhise

 

***I wrote this update right before publishing this tonight: Since Monday of this week, we’ve been taking care of two little girls from our church, Alison (7) and Iris (3), while their dad had surgery and had a shunt put in his skull. Please keep Bro. Darlin and Sis. Tirza in your prayers that God would help Bro. Darlin to heal and recover quickly. I wanted to write this also to let y’all know why I haven’t had as much time to write and work on my blog. Watching kids is a 24/7 job (especially when the little one sleeps in your bed with you, and doesn’t want to go to sleep without you πŸ˜πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ˜‚). I say all this to ask you all to continue to be patient with me, and I promise that I am working on more posts, but this is literally the first time I’ve been on the computer to have some time to myself for the last week. That being said, I hope to be back soon, depending on when the girls go back to their house. God Bless and thanks for reading!

3 Replies to “Class of 2019πŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸŽ“”

Leave a comment